Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

I was really happy to get to meet and work with Samantha when I learned she was having twins. A family friend works at a preschool and asked me if I had any business cards because she knew some pregnant moms that would possibly be interested in my birth photography. She said she even had a child in her class who’s mother was pregnant with twins. I was super excited and told her to please give Samantha my business card. I was so happy to receive an email from her the next day to discuss birth photography. We met later in the week and we discussed the ins and outs of what she was wanting and I learned she was having one boy and one girl (how fun). I told her that she needed to discuss in depth with her doctor about allowing me into the OR to shoot their birth. Her schedule C-section was on March 6, 2017, at 8 a.m. and I told her to let me know what the doctor said after her next visit.

It turned out that the doctor was super on board with Samantha having a photographer with her. I wish that I had been more prepared the day of the event, though. I received a text message Monday morning from Sam saying she was in early labor and they were already at the hospital. Since it was 45 minutes to an hour away I asked her if she still wanted me to come and she said yes. I scurried around my house trying to get ready because of course I had put my clothes in the wash the night before and my pants weren’t dry. She was delivering at a different hospital than the one that I had been working at and truth be told I should have done a run to and from my house so I was more familiar with the area, but I didn’t. Oh, the joys of being overly confident. I am from the Southwest side of Indianapolis and there is little to no traffic on this side of town, I did not think about it being 7:00 in the morning on the Northside when I left and was driving to the destination. I actually made it to the hospital on time, but I was stopped at the front desk where they asked me a bunch of questions about where I was going and who I was there to see. They asked me to spell her last name and what my code was to get on to the floor. I knew where I was going and I was getting frustrated with the one finger tap on the keyboard while they were locating where I was supposed to be going. I happened to see the elevator open and I took off running and slammed the door close button. I made it to the maternity floor and pressed the call button. They were already expecting me so the nurse came flying around the corner with the stuff I needed to put on for the OR and we booked it down the hallway. Skidding to a halt outside the OR she said hang on and walked in. I glanced at the clock at it said it was 7:50 a.m. the nurse came back and I had missed it. LITERALLY by three minutes. Baby A was born at 7:47 and Baby B at 7:48 a.m.

I was really upset because the amount of time wasted downstairs is the ultimate reason I didn’t make it. I totally understand that they have a job to do but I was obviously aware of where I was going and in a hurry to get there. At the very least go with me to make sure I’m not a creeper instead of holding me up from 15 minutes downstairs. I did learn they had waited as long as possible for me to get there, but due to concerns for Sam they had to go. Switching modes I am happy to say I was able to capture daddy holding both his babies for the first time because the nurses were holding the door open for me.

Samantha and Ryan were very understanding about the fact that I was seconds from being there on time and I am glad they didn’t wait for me. Samantha was in actual danger because her uterus was rupturing from the first time she had a C-section. The Doctor was excited that I offer C-section photography and I gave her my business card for future C-section mommies. Samantha looked amazing after her surgery and when they brought her in I was able to capture her holding Anniston and Rafe for the first time. She did an incredible job as a twin mom. These two little bits were a perfect weight and healthy as can be. Rafe decided it would be a great idea to take a big gulp of his pool water on the way out (I’m seeing a trend with boys) and so he was having some respiratory issues but he figured it out with help.

Samantha and Ryan are an adorable couple. It was so sweet to see the love between them. They are genuinely and madly in love. Ryan was very attentive and listened to his partner closely. Samantha was in the lap of itchy luxury with her pain meds (they make you itchy) and gazed lovingly at her new babies. She was definitely done with being moved around by her nurse, though. I think originally daddy was super excited to get another boy because he took Rafe first while mommy worked on feeding Anniston. It was very cute because the little girl was wide awake and looking around while her brother was fast asleep for the most part. Two very different personalities were very much making themselves known.

Daddy was definitely quick to learn what happens when he’s handed his baby girl, being a daddy’s girl myself I thought it was adorable to watch her wrap up around her tiny finger from day one. I thought it was especially sweet to see a dad take the skin-to-skin moment with real enthusiasm. Both babies got fabulous skin-to-skin time with both parents. Having two boys I saw the sweetest moment between mom and baby boy as well. She loved all over his little head and looked lovingly into his little face. There is nothing like newborn smell and cuteness. Rafe was whining because his tummy was bothering him so the nurse placed him in the bassinet on his belly to help him figure out how to get comfortable. He never really got comfortable laying on his back, but he did enjoy sitting with his head in my hand and or daddy’s hand and bouncing gently. I did get a cute baby burp from him and I think it helped a little with his breathing.

At the end of my time with them, I watched brother and sister reconnect on the outside. They had been separated at that point for about an hour and a half and they were both very relieved and immediately relaxed when they were placed next to each other. Anniston and Rafe are BEAUTIFUL babies. They didn’t spend any time in the NICU and they went home two days after being born with mommy and daddy. Big brother said he did not want a sister and I have it on good authority that he has since changed his toon. He has taken to being a big brother like a champ and loves both his baby brother and his baby sister very much. I hope to do more sessions with them in the future. They are adorable little ones.

Anniston born 3-6-17 at 7:47 a.m. weighing 6 lbs 8 oz and was 18 3/4 inches long AND Rafe born 3-6-17 at 7:48 a.m. weighing 6 lbs 12 oz and was 20 inches long. Congratulations Samantha, Ryan, and Xander on the birth of your babies. They are stunning. Great job Samantha carring TWO babies so long and bringing perfectly healthy little ones into the world. I was honored to share your space. Thank you for letting me hold them both, that was a once in a lifetime experience for me.

 

 

 

